Editorial Office:
Department of Tropical Agriculture and International Cooperation
National Pingtung University of Science and Technology
1, Shuefu Rd., Neipu, Pingtung, Taiwan, 91201

TEL: 886-8-7703202 ext. 6432
FAX: 886-8-7740446
E-mail: jic@mail.npust.edu.tw


On September 22, 2003 TaiwanICDF took the initiative to establish the Taiwan International Cooperation Alliance (TICA) with seven local universities including National Pingtung University of Science and Technology (NPUST), National Cheng-Chi University (NCCU), National Tsing-Hua University (NTHU), National Yang-Ming University (NYMU), National Taiwan Ocean University (NTOU), and National Taiwan Normal University (NTNU) as well as National Central University. Cooperating with local universities, this alliance aims at consolidating the management of the TaiwanICDF Scholarship Program as its priority. It is also expected to benefit TaiwanICDF, participating universities, and society by integrating resources from these three sides.

Led by the principles of integrating domestic educational and diplomatic resources, the alliance universities will not only help carry out TaiwanICDF scholarship programs, but will also become engaged in international cooperation affairs. This will enhance the development of internationalization for local universities.

Currently, TICA has expanded from 7 to 21 universities, program(s) undertaking in each member university feature in different areas. The TICA members are as follows:

  1. National Pingtung University of Science and Technology
  2. National Changchi University
  3. National Tsing Hua University
  4. National Taiwan Ocean University
  5. National Yang Ming University
  6. National Taiwan Normal University
  7. National Central University
  8. Kun Shan University
  9. Yuan Ze University
  10. National Sun Yet-Sen University
  11. National Taipei University of Nursing and Health Sciences
  12. National Taiwan University
  13. National Cheng Kung University
  14. Ming Chuan University
  15. Kaohsiung Medical University
  16. Taipei Medical University
  17. Taipei National University of the Arts
  18. National Chung Hsing University
  19. National Chung Cheng University
  20. I-Shou University
  21. National Dong Hwa University

The short-term goal of TICA is primarily to establish the management platform of the TaiwanICDF Scholarship Program. This will allow the TaiwanICDF and the 21 participating universities to systemize and institutionalize the implementation of the programs. This operational platform will also provide the alliance universities avenues for consultations should any problems arise.

Soon after TICA was established, the TaiwanICDF invited representatives of the partner universities to hold a Management Platform Meeting for the TaiwanICDF Scholarship Program. This provided all parties with a chance to practice the operations of TICA. Through the management platform, we have helped the alliance universities to share experiences, solve problems and improve the project management.

In the future, the TaiwanICDF will continuously improve the management of the Scholarship Program via the operation of management platforms under TICA. We will also encourage the alliance universities to expand academic and research fields. Furthermore, the TaiwanICDF will continue to boost cooperation with local universities and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) via TICA to enlarge its resources pool and to promote Taiwan's participation in international cooperation affairs. In the mean time, the TaiwanICDF pledges to facilitate and assist the local universities toward internationalization by leading them to take part in international cooperation projects. The establishment of TICA is a step towards a long-term contribution to Taiwan's participation in international development.


International Cooperation and Development Fund
12-15F, No. 9, Lane 62, Tien Mou West Rd., Taipei 11157, Taiwan. TEL:886-2-2873-2323
Linking to this site is permissible. All rights reserved.